Wednesday, March 4, 2009

English Department Dean's Award Recipients

Two students from the English Department won Dean’s Awards from the recently 2009 Student Research Symposium, held February 27 and 28 at The Aztec Center. Lisa Hemminger, MFA candidate in Creative Writing, won for her oral presentation "Funny Paper"; and Pierre Lalague, undergraduate English, won for his presentation "Glowing Bones: Art Spiegelman’s Hallucinations in the Shadow of No Towers". MFA Director Sandra Alcosser and Associate Professor Joanna Brooks mentored, respectively. Both students receive a cash prize of $250.

The 2009 Student Research Symposium (SRS), in its second year, featured oral and poster presentations from nearly 400 undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral candidate’s research projects.

No comments: